07 Dec 2016: Qualifying Round Winners 2016

Congratulations to all the schools through to the next stage of the competition!

Well done to the schools who’ve secured their place in the spring Regional Finals of the 2016/17 competition. Congratulations to all the competing students and the teachers who support them throughout the year.

Those results in full….

Central Region
Chilwell School, Nottingham
Cirencester College, Cirencester
Hagley Catholic High School, Hagley
Joseph Chamberlain Sixth Form College, Birmingham
Leicester Grammar School, Great Glen
St Thomas More Catholic College, Longton

East Region
King Edward VI School, Bury St Edmunds
Queens’ School, Bushey
Southend High School for Boys, Southend-on-Sea
Spalding High School, Spalding
Stamford Endowed Schools, Stamford
Wymondham College, Wymondham

London Inner Region
Burlington Danes Academy, London
Lady Margaret School, London
Oaklands School, London
St Martin-in-the-Fields High School for Girls, London
The Grey Coat Hospital, London
Twyford Church of England High School, London

London North Region
Chingford Foundation School, London
David Game College, London
Immanuel College, Bushey
The Coopers’ Company and Coborn School, Upminster
Uxbridge College, Uxbridge
Enfield winner tbc 2017

London South Region
Colfe’s School, London
Invicta Grammar School, Maidstone
Putney High School, London
Sacred Heart Catholic School, London
St John’s School, Leatherhead
Wimbledon High School, London

North East Region
Durham School, Durham
Durham High School for Girls, Durham
Gosforth Academy, Newcastle upon Tyne
Harrogate Grammar School, Harrogate
Sedbergh School, Sedbergh
Thorp Academy, Gateshead

North West & North Wales Region
Birkenhead High School Academy, Prenton
Blackburn College, Blackburn
Hutton Church of England Grammar School, Hutton
Loreto College, Manchester
St John Rigby College, Wigan
Withington Girls’ School, Manchester

Scotland & Northern Ireland
Banchory Academy, Banchory
Douglas Academy, Milngavie
Kirkcudbright Academy, Kirkcudbright
Madras College, St Andrews
St Columb’s College, Derry/Londonderry
The Royal School Armagh, Armagh

South Region
Burford School, Burford
John Hampden Grammar School, High Wycombe
Royal Wootton Basset Academy, Royal Wootton Basset
The Burgate School & Sixth Form Centre, Fordingbridge
The Holt School, Wokingham
Reading winner tbc 2017

South East Region
Ardingly College, Ardingly
Guildford High School, Guildford
Highworth Grammar School, Ashford
International Study Centre, Brighton
Oakwood Park Grammar school, Maidstone
Queen Elizabeth’s Grammar School, Faversham

West & South Wales Region
Chosen Hill School, Churchdown
Exeter College, Exeter
St Mary Redcliffe and Temple School, Bristol
The Purbeck School, Wareham
Truro School, Truro
Ysgol Gyfun Plasmawr, Cardiff

Yorkshire Region
Abbey Grange Academy, Leeds
Allerton High School, Leeds
Barnsley College, Barnsley
Beckfoot School, Bradford
Hymers College, Hull
Outwood Grange Academy, Wakefield

We would like to thank all of our supporters and the individuals who have taken the time to judge the Qualifying Rounds and engage students in some of contemporary social, political and ethical issues. Particular thanks to: the Wellcome Trust, Hodder Education, the Medical Research Council, Thames Water and Transport Systems Catapult for the commitment they have shown to the competition.

Thanks also to our venue and other partners throughout the autumn: Brunel University London, Leeds Beckett University, Plymouth University, The Hepworth Wakefield, University of Derby, The University of Sheffield, The Literific and Scientific Society, Queens University Belfast, National Library of Scotland, The North of England Institute of Mining and Mechanical Engineers, Jordans Solicitors, First Actuarial and Wimbledon BookFest.


Thursday 17 January:
Southampton Championship at Solent University in partnership with NATS

Wednesday 13 February:
Kent Championship at MidKent College


Find a list of all our previous championship events here.


© 2005-2018 Debating Matters Competition, Academy of Ideas Limited, Unit 208, Cocoa Studios, The Biscuit Factory, Drummond Road, London, SE16 4DG, UK

Tel +44 (0)20 7269 9230 / 020 8065 5118 - Fax (0)20 7269 9235 - | admin login